Friday, May 24, 2024

General Elections 2024: Over 70 Former MPs and Influential Figures Opt Out

More than 70 former members of the National Assembly have chosen not to participate in the upcoming general election scheduled for February 2024. Notable among them are influential figures, including two former prime ministers, signaling a shift in Pakistan's political dynamics.

Expressing disappointment with the current "political shenanigans," Mohsin Khan Leghari, a former PTI MNA, and Khusro Bakhtiar, another ex-PTI MNA, have both decided not to file nomination papers. Asfandyar Wali Khan, president of ANP, citing health concerns, will not be contesting, with his son stepping in as the candidate from his home constituency.

- Advertisement -

Ghaus Bux Mehar, a five-time former PPP MNA, expressed a desire to step away from politics, giving the younger generation an opportunity. Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, former Prime Minister and PML-Q leader, is also absent from the electoral race due to illness, as confirmed by a family member.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, another ex-premier and senior PML-N leader, expressed dissatisfaction with the existing political and electoral systems, calling for a radical overhaul of governance and election mechanisms in the country.

Approximately 98 percent of ex-MPs did not submit their nomination papers by the December 22, 2023 deadline. Dozens of women were not nominated for reserved seats, and the research also identified four former members who have passed away.

Notable names abstaining from the electoral race include Miftah Ismail, former finance minister, Javed Hashmi, veteran politician, Jamal Laghari, former state minister, Rai Mujtaba Kharal, former MNA from Bahawalpur, and Hamid Nasir Chatta, former speaker of the National Assembly.

- Advertisement -

The list extends to Sumera Malik, Mian Shafiq, Asad Umar, Ali Zaidi, Khusro Bakhtiar, Amjad Niazi, Sadaqat Abbasi, Nusrat Sahar, and Ali Nawaz Awan. Former women MPs not participating include Maiza Hameed, Mehnaz Aziz, Ishrat Ashraf, Manza Hassan, Ayesha Ghaus Pasha, Shireen Mazari, Andaleeb Abbas, Rida Khan, Shehzadi Umarzadi Tiwana, Ghazala Saifee, Aamra Khan, Asma Qadeer, Seemi Bukhari, Sobia Kamal, and Malaika Bukhari.

Stay updated with the latest and breaking news directly on your mobile phone by joining Headline PK's WhatsApp group!

For the most recent updates, don't forget to follow us on Twitter @Headline_pk. You can also find us on Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube.



Raheel J.M
Raheel J.M
Raheel, a Karachi-based reporter, is at the forefront of political journalism, providing insightful coverage that transcends the bustling landscape of Pakistan's political sphere. With an unwavering commitment to delivering accurate and comprehensive news, Raheel's work is marked by a keen understanding of the intricate dynamics shaping the political landscape.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Latest stories


Highlights of the Week

Faster Toll Payments, Smoother Journeys: Zindigi Partners with One Network for M-Tag Top-Ups

Commuters with M-Tags can now enjoy hassle-free journeys through...

Saudia Group and Airbus Sign the Largest Aircraft Deal in Saudi Aviation

Saudia Group announced the largest aircraft deal in Saudi...

Who is Mohammad Mokhber, the man set to become Iran’s interim president?

Mohammad Mokhber, aged 68, is set to step into...

Iranian President’s Helicopter Crashes in Northern Region: Local Media Reports

A helicopter carrying Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi reportedly crashed...